Practice for tomorrow’s PPC match

Tomorrow is the next to last PPC Service Pistol match for the season. To prepare for this, I took my barricade along to the range.

IMG_1549

Part of the match is the twenty-five yard barricade stage. Six rounds kneeling from the right side of the barricade. Six rounds standing from the left side and six more from the right side standing.

IMG_1550

Now, my personal demon resides on the left side of the dreaded barricade. In keeping with police tactics, the pistol must be grasped in the left hand and the trigger must be actuated with the left trigger finger. This is to ensure that the maximum amount of your body is behind cover.

Historically, the left hand portion has always given me fits. So the majority 0f today’s practice was devoted to solving this dilemma. The first two eight round magazines were far to the right. The third run was fired very slowly, yet no discernible finch was apparent. The next run yielded the same results. Not arriving at an explanation, I decided to drop back and punt. Good old fashioned Kentucky Windage.

IMG_1552

I put the front sight on the number “7” on the left side of the silhouette. Eight more rounds went downrange. Four “9”s and four “10”s! I fired another magazine with similar results. Not having a reason for my difficulties was annoying but now I am able to deal with it. Fine tuning my sight picture over the course of several more magazines, I was able to increase my score to a best of 79 out of a possible 80. Bring on the match!

IMG_1555

I also brought another M1911 just to run a few magazines through. It is the first pistol I ever built. The frame is from Federal Ordnance. Long out of business, I bought the frame in 1990 for $70.00! The rest of the parts were scrounged from numerous sources. The quick release lanyard is tied to the mainspring housing loop since the pistol normally resides in a holster on my TA-50. While not match grade by any means, it is combat effective. It is good to take it out for some exercise now and again.

IMG_1557

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment